Contact Us
Our Home - Here  

Lotus 2013 -Here  

Lotus 2012 -Here  

Lotus 2011 -Here  

Lotus 2010 -Here  

Lotus 2009 -Here  
  Chakiat Sankara Menon                            Prof Madhukar Rao                                      V.B.M Bava 
Prof. Madhukar Rao
Prof.Madhukar Rao was not only a professor of English, but also a professor of Bridge. Just as he has innumerable students in the field of  glish literature he has used his teaching prowess to train and develop a good crop of young and enthusiastic bridge players. 

Prof. Rao learnt bridge at the very young age of 17 from his late brother-in-law Sanjiv Pandit. From that day to his sudden unexpected end in December 2013 he had been a master at bridge. Right from the 1960s Prof. Madhukar Rao has been participating in the Lotus Club tournament. According to his family he has never missed a Lotus Club tournament since coming to Cochin. He would rather miss family functions, but not this annual fixture. To quote his words “The Lotus tournament has stood the test of time.” . He had the distinction of captaining the Kerala State team on a number of occasions and winning the appreciation of one and all.  

Chakiat Sankara Menon
Mr. Sankara Menon was born on 1916 as the son of Chakiat Narayana Menon. He had his educatio n in Ernakulam and in Kolkata. While studying in Kolkata, he had to discontinue his studies as his father wanted him to join the Hardware Business. It was at the initiative
of Mr. Sankara Menon the Shipping Division of the business was started in 1952, which he steered successfully. 

He was the president of the Cochin Chamber of Commerce and Industry and was a trustee of the Cochin Port Trust. He was the president of the Lotus Club during 1961-62. He was an avid Bridge player ansd was closely associated with the sporting activities. He passed away on June 1979.  

V.B.M Bava
Late V.B.M. Bava was an Industrialist and Philanthropist. He was secretary of Lotus Club in 1961-62. He was President of Rotary Club of Cochin in 1963-64. He has served in several Government committees and was President of Kerala State Small Industries Association in 1970-71. He was a keen Bridge player
Important > Apart from lunch, dinner and snacks on both the days, a limited number of free basic accommodation will be provided to participating outstation teams on a ‘first come first served basis
Prof. Madhukar Rao Memorial Trophy (T/ 4 )  
Chakiat Sankara Menon Memorial Trophy (BAM )
V B M Bava memorial Trophy - PAIRS EVENT. 
Brochure - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - -  Here  
Dates > 24th and 25th Jan 2015 

Venue > Lotus Club, Ernakulam  
Hit Counter
Hit Counter
                 Organising Committee                             
George. P. Korah, President, Lotus Club 
Tom Edward, Secretary, Lotus Club       
Suresh V. Shenoy, Treasurer, Lotus Club 
Simon John                                                   
Robins Jacob                                           
K. Vijayan (Convenor)                    

Tournament Committee  
Joseph Cherian, President, KBA  
S. Sreekumar, Secretary, KBA  
Zafar P.A., Secretary, EDBA    
Varma, Treasurer, EDBA     
Afshar Majeed (Convenor)  
P. Ramachandran Nair, Treasurer, KBA  
Appeals Committee
Prof. Easo Mohan George-Chairman
(Committe will be formed at  venue)  

Tournament Directors
T.R. Rajagopal
V.C. Zacharia

K. Vijayan - Mob. 9447141366
Prof. Robins Jacob - Mob. 9447465885
Afshar Majeed - Mob. 9847052743
Visit www.bridgeinindia.com for results.

Saturday (24/01/2015)
9:00 am : Registration
9:30 am : Inauguration
10:00 am : Swiss League  starts
(No. of boards, rounds & no. of teams to be qualified for Super League will be depending on the number of entries

Sunday (25/01/2015)
8:30 am : Super League
9:00 am : Board–A–Match
2:00 pm : Pairs
5:30 pm : Prize Distribution  

Rules & Regulations
• Current BFI and KBA rules shall apply
• Tournament committee’s decision 
   shall be final
• Smoking, consumption of alcohol 
  and use of cell phones inside the 
  hall is strictly prohibited
• Lunch, dinner, tea & snacks will be  
provided by the club
Duplicate 1,200     I 25,000    3,000
                              II 15,000
                              III  8,000
                              IV  6,000 

B-A-Match 800       I 10,000   2,000
                                II  8,000
                                III 6,000
                                IV 4,000 

Pairs          400          I 6,000  1,000
                                  II 4,000
                                1II 3,000
                                 IV 2,000
To go to top click Here  
Prof. Madhukar Rao Memorial Trophy-Team of Four duplicate - Team  Standard 

Chakiat Sankara Menon Memorial Trophy for Board-A-Match - Team Standard  

VBM Bava Memorial Trophy for Pair Event Winner S L Sharma & K Vasanth 

All results - Here