
    

    

Law 20                    REVIEW AND EXPLANATION OF CALLS 

 A. Call Not Clearly Recognized 

A player may require clarification forthwith if he is in doubt what call has been made. 

B. Review of Auction during Auction Period 

During the auction period, a player is entitled to have all previous calls restated* when it is 

his turn to call, unless he is required by law to pass. Alerts should be included when 

responding to the request. A player may not ask for a partial review of previous calls and 

may not halt the review before it is completed. 

C. Review after Final Pass 

1. After the final pass either defender has the right to ask if it is his opening lead (see 

Laws 47E and 41). 

   

2. Declarer** or either defender may, at his first turn to play, require all previous calls 

to be restated*. (See Laws 41B and 41C). As in B the player may not ask for only a 

partial restatement or halt the review. 

D. Who May Review the Auction 

A request to have calls restated* shall be responded to only by an opponent. 

E. Correction of Error in Review 

All players, including dummy or a player required by law to pass, are responsible for 

prompt correction of errors in restatement* (see Law 12C1 when an uncorrected review 

causes damage). 

F. Explanation of Calls  

 

1.  During the auction and before the final pass, any player may request, but only at his 

own turn to call, an explanation of the opponents’ prior auction. He is entitled to 

know about calls actually made, about relevant alternative calls available that were 

not made, and about relevant inferences from the choice of action where these are 

matters of partnership understanding. Except on the instruction of the Director 

replies should be given by the partner of the player who made the call in question. 

The partner of a player who asks a question may not ask a supplementary question 

until his turn to call or play. Law 16 may apply and the Regulating Authority may 

establish regulations for written explanations. 

 

 

2. After the final pass and throughout the play period, either defender at his own turn 

to play may request an explanation of the opposing auction. At his turn to play from 

his hand or from dummy declarer may request an explanation of a defender’s call or 

card play understandings. Explanations should be given on a like basis to 1 and by 

the partner of the player whose action is explained. 

 

 
3. Under 1 and 2 above a player may ask concerning a single call but Law 16B1 may 

apply. 

 

 

4. If a player subsequently realizes that his own explanation was erroneous or 

incomplete he must call the Director immediately. The Director applies Law 21B or 

Law 40B4. 

 

  

5. a.  A player whose partner has given a mistaken explanation may not correct the 

error during the auction, nor may he indicate in any manner that a mistake has 

been made. ‘Mistaken explanation’ here includes failure to alert or announce as 

regulations require or an alert (or an announcement) that regulations do not 

require. 
 

    b.  The player must call the Director and inform his opponents that, in his opinion, 



    

    

his partner’s explanation was erroneous (see Law 75) but only at his first legal 

opportunity, which is  
 

  i. for a defender, at the end of the play. 
 

  ii. for declarer or dummy, after the final pass of the auction. 
 

 

  
6. If the Director judges that a player has based an action on misinformation given to 

him by an opponent see, as appropriate, Law 21 or Law 47E. 

 G. Incorrect Procedure 

1. It is improper to ask a question solely for partner’s benefit. 

   

2. Except as the Regulating Authority allows a player may not consult his own system 

card and notes during the auction and play periods, but see Law 40B2(b). 

* When the calls are not spoken responders must ensure that it is clear to an enquiring 

opponent what calls have been made. 

** Declarer’s first turn to play is from dummy unless accepting an opening lead out of turn  

Law 20 

This law tells us that players have the obligation to explain their partnership agreements to 

their opponents. The fact that the explanation might not necessarily concur with their 

actual holding, might create confusion. Let us take the following example: 

West North  East  South 

1♥     3♣*    Pass   3♠** 

North has ♠Q6 ♥6 ♦953 ♣AQJ8652 and intended to show a weak hand with long clubs. But 

theagreement is that it shows diamonds and spades, so 3♣ is a mistaken bid. This is not an 

infraction. 

South alerts 3♣ and bids 3♠. Without having seen the alert it is likely that North will 

interpret 3♠ in accordance with his understanding of his 3♣-bid: showing long spades. But 

having seen the alert he realizes his mistake and knows that 3♠ shows preference for that 

suit over diamonds. It is his obligation to alert the 3♠-bid and to explain it as such. This 

means that he has put himself in the awkward position that he has created unauthorized 

information which limits his choices in the auction, but which also helps him to give the 

right information about the partnership agreements. In that respect the knowledge about 

his mistake is not considered to be unauthorized. 

We take the same start of the auction but now North has ♠KJ ♥874 ♦94 ♣AQ1083 6 and 

South does not alert his 3♣-bid. That is an infraction, but North is not entitled to draw 

attention to it explicitly: by telling the opponents that partner should have alerted the 3♣-

bid. It might be unavoidable that his partner is informed about his mistake in which case 

probably their opponents become aware of it as well. (If South bids 3♠, North should alert 

that call and explain it as showing a preference for spades; that certainly will awake 

partner who receives unauthorized information). 

Suppose the auction continues: 

West  North  East  South 

1♥     3♣        3♥     4♣* 

Given the absence of alert on 3♣, North may assume that South supports his supposed club 

holding, but according to the agreements 4♣ shows a strong hand with trump support in 

either diamonds or spades. So he should alert it and, if asked, explain it as such. This 

obligation supersedes the demand described in Law 5(a) not to indicate in any manner that 

a mistake has been made. That sentence tells the player to conform to Law 73A1: 

‘communication between partners during the auction and play shall be effected only by 

means of calls and plays’. This implies that giving alerts and answering questions is not 

considered to be a way of communicating with partner but solely with the opponents. 

None the less partner hears what is said and then has an obligation to call the TD and to 

tell him that he mistakenly explained the 3♣-bid. After which he should forget what he 

heard; more precisely: should not choose from among logical alternatives one that could be 

suggested by the unauthorized information. 


